visual /- evidences
Tuesday, May 30, 2006
  wedding
I've never been to a wedding that I've felt I'm so uninvolved in the lives of the bride and groom.. both of whom I've known for so long.

For all the friends weddings I've been to, I'm either taking photos, smooching with other friends, exchanging gossip, helping the bride and groom get into the groove of things, generally being helpful.. but this wedding was different..

There were already people who had planned out the reception. People who were helping the couple get into their respective roles for the ceremony. People who were doing the photo-taking. People who were the sitting prop. People who were there only because they had to.. People who already have things to do.. I had NOTHING to do with any of these.. I've never felt so far away from the bride, the groom and the friends that turned up.

I love them much.

I remember the days when she and I would talk for ages the minute we meet, and I remember when I had to deal with 'issues' the groom had with his ex.. I even fondly remember how all three of us would sit in a kopi tiam and just talk rots.. what's changed?

What's changed?
 
Monday, May 29, 2006
  Digital push to Analogue?
In this time and age, it's a small wonder that the wet darkroom of yore has taken more people under its hostage.

I look forward to how I can one day go into the darkroom again and slowly watch my print develop infront of me.. I look forward to how I can sip kopi while waiting for my prints to be washed... I loook forward to slowly be able to burn and dodge a print.. it is all just soo organic, and so a part of a human existence; nothing fast, but everything that requires slow and careful thinking and execution...

Digital is pushing me toward analogue... strange...
 
  cheap photograph?
Is there such a thing as cheap photographs? Yes, and no.

The fact that each image captured can be multipled many time over without much cost has made it cheap. But the fact that it can carry something that might never again happen in its' lifetime makes that image valuable.

How am I suppose to react when a friend tells me that he thinks that photography is not art, it's just a realistic capture of events?

Well, I can react in several ways: I could completely dive into the mechanical aspect of photography and how it works and how I can make my images real-er. Or I could make my pictures more like paintings. Or, I could do a little of both. Or, I could completely turn photography on its' side by not capturing things to make them look real... or, or.. or.. well, it really all depends on how creative the person is, eh?

However, why do so many people want to only go into how expensive their equipment is? Or how it is only possible to shoot a good picture with a tripod? Or that how a lens only works well at a certain aperture? Why can't people just be creative and take pictures that are different, creative? hmm....

Why indeed.
 
  keeping the best for last?
Heard of that? Keeping the best for last?

You know, I was having roast duck rice the other day and was keeping the nicest, juicest, fattest part of the duck meat for the last, and when I finally reached for that meat, it dropped on the dirty table. I never got to the best part.

Got me thinking... what if we always had the best first, and then work out the rest? That way, we would always be having the best, and be working for the best!
 
Tuesday, May 23, 2006
  thinking / doing
Have been knocking my head over my very busy sehedules. Wondering if there are people out there, in this time and age, that can find time to actually do some proper thinking for their work / hobby / family / etc. The ability to think has been something that's attributed to us humans and not to animals, I am no scientist, but I beg to differ. I think they just think differently from us.

I've found that it's increasingly more and more difficult for me to actually have clear thoughts to work on. The need for space, and time is badly needed to have clear and efficient thought. I wonder how people in this decade do it since the pressures of work, loved ones and family does take a toll?

Whenever I talk about this topic with friends, the usual response is time-management. But seriousely, time is not on my side, most of the time. And when I do get some time, it is usually too short to be productive. Resting seems to come first, then clear thoughts can be done.

After talking about this topic with some friends, I've broken different people down into different types:
1. There are those who think a lot, but gets nothing done.
2. There are those who bury themselves into their work, and never thinks.
3. There are those who think they think a lot, it's actually more like complaining because they have nothing better to do.
4. There are those who does a tonne of work, and still manages to find time and space for themselves to think.

I'm working towards number 4. Wish me luck! But first, must rest. :P
 
  time and time
Was just looking through some critical books on photography, and was rather amazed at how photography has evolved through time, and yet, through this time, photography is coming back in a circle.

Where is photography now in this line of time? Will it be a milestone in photography? Hmm... It seems to elude me as to where it is now. Kinda like when the first milestone of photography was when light sensitive metals were found. Kinda like the first closeup shots were taken. Kinda like when the first nudes were done. Kinda like when the first proper portraits were taken. Kinda like when the first snapshot type of photography were shot... kinda kinda.. but did they know they were creating a milestone in photography? Or were they like me, at present, wondering if anything in photography is creating a milestone?

Will film ever come back as main stream? I seriously doubt it. Will digital stay for good? Maybe, at least until something new that is probably a merge between organic and digital comes up. Orgital? Imagine just looking at something and it gets capture with a snap of a finger. Imagine if you put an innocent lookiing piece of paper over an object, and in seconds, that object get 'reproduced' as an image on that paper. wow... limitless! Well, you heard it here first!
 
Wednesday, May 17, 2006
  Christography?
A vehical for me to share my world of text and photography.
Enjoy!
 
Things that I read, things that I capture, life that I partake, life that I capture, thoughts that I have, thougths that I give.

Archives
May 2006 / August 2006 / December 2006 / January 2007 / November 2008 /


Powered by Blogger

Subscribe to
Comments [Atom]