Culture = Behaviour
Just got back from China yesterday. Have SO many observations.. will slowly trickle them in as I find time.
Always wondered why is it that people don't seem know how to behave in public.
I compared between Singapore and the Cities I went to in China
Spitting.
SG wins, even though there are less than 5 incidences of public spitting out of the 10 days that I was there.
Letting their seat up for needy people.
China wins. Saw it on 3 seperate occasions on the trains in China.
Using phone during a lecture.
China wins by a thin margin.
Not littering.
SG wins.
Wait service. (only because I didn't have time to do proper shopping)
China wins. My goodness, they are attentive, always asking if I needed anything else; like extra napkins, or whatever. Out of all the places I ate, only 1 sucked in this department. In SG? Well, most wait staffs don't really care unless you are in a very posh establishment, and even then, sometimes.
Then it got me thinking.. has all of these to do with the culture of the country? I know that Singapore is predominately Chinese, but how many of us actually even know which part of China our ancesters were from? Not to mention the amount of time we spend on cultural doings like keeping time aside for parents, or quoting from historical cultural writers, etc?